SAVE LOCAL BEES NOW!
ASK FOR AN IMMEDIATE
LEGAL PROTECTION
OF THE CONSERVATION AREAS

of us have already signed and asked for the protection of our local bees in Europe.
Help us reach Chargement…!

SAVE OUR LOCAL BEES

We, researchers, organizations and citizens, are joining forces for the conservation of our irreplaceable local bees in a healthy and preserved environment. We built the coalition #SaveLocalBees to put pressure on the European Commission and Member States of the European Union and obtain urgent safeguard measures and a protection of endangered conservatory areas.

On March 1st 2018, the European Parliament adopted a text stating the importance of a protection of the various subspecies of honey bees in Europe. The European Commission, the executive branch of the Union, must now transpose this will of the citizens’ representatives into law. However, no concrete action has been taken to save these precious pollinators after this historic commitment.

No MORE TIME TO LOSE

Local bees have historically been present in their natural state in all European countries for thousands of years, but are now threatened by intensive agriculture and the importation of other bees. Their extinction would mean the disappearance of an essential part of our ecosystems.

Different geographical varieties of honey bees (Apis mellifera) have flourished all over Europe. In each of these locations, over thousands of years, they have acquired abilities to adapt to their local environment, making them the most efficient pollinators of our wild and grown plants and flowers.

But all over Europe, foreign DNA already represents a third to two thirds of the bees’ DNA. These hybrid bees are often unable to forage on local flower varieties. In the North, they do not know how to make enough honey reserves to withstand a longer winter than the one they are used to in their countries of origin. In the South, they are unaware that they must slow their egg laying at the beginning of summer before facing a period of drought that they have never experienced before.

Already threatened like all living things by pesticides and the deterioration of nature, these ill-adapted bees die even faster. Too fast.

GOODWILL IS NOT ENOUGH

There are only a few conservatories left with pure local bee populations. Preserved for now, these little natural reserves only survive thanks to the fierce determination of a few invested and passionate people. But their goodwill is no longer enough since beekeepers are trying to combat the massive mortality of their colonies by importing foreign bees. Only by law can we give these conservation areas an official existence. Only by law can we protect the efforts and work of the conservatories. Only by law can we impose operating rules that respect local bees. Only by law can we put in place dissuasive sanctions against the introduction of non-indigenous bees.

May REASON GOVERN THE LAW

We, scientists, organization and citizens, engaged with the #SaveLocalBees coalition, urge the Commission and Member States of the European Union to immediately implement this will of the citizens and their representatives in Parliament.

In particular, we are calling for a legal protection for the conservatories that are sheltering ecotypes and subspecies of Apis mellifera throughout Europe. Our claims and arguments can be found in the Statement of Principle signed by the main actors fighting for a protection of local bees and biodiversity.

The #SaveLocalBees coalition and the specialists behind this movement, lovers of nature and of our unique local bees, the specialists that are behind this movement, need broad popular support to add weight to their legitimate claims, vital for our ecosystems.

ADD YOUR NAME

SAUVONS
NOS ABEILLES LOCALES !
Exigeons de la Commission européenne leur protection immédiate

Nous sommes déjà à réclamer la protection des abeilles locales en Europe. Objectif : Chargement… !

#SavelocalBees :
SAUVONS NOS ABEILLES LOCALES

Nous, chercheurs, associations et citoyens, nous mobilisons pour la préservation de nos irremplaçables abeilles locales dans un environnement sain et préservé. Les acteurs de cette préservation à travers l’Europe ont créé la coalition #SaveLocalBees afin de faire pression sur la Commission européenne et les États membres de l’Union pour d’obtenir d’urgence des mesures de sauvegarde et protéger les zones conservatoires aujourd’hui menacées.

Le Parlement européen a voté le 1er mars 2018 un texte affirmant l’importance de préserver les différentes sous-espèces d’abeilles à miel d’Europe. La Commission européenne, branche exécutive de l’Union, doit maintenant traduire en loi cette volonté des représentants des citoyens. Mais, depuis cet engagement historique, aucune mesure concrète n’a été prise pour sauver ces précieux pollinisateurs.

Plus de temps à perdre

Historiquement présentes à l’état naturel dans l’ensemble des pays européens depuis des millénaires, les abeilles locales sont aujourd’hui menacées par l’agriculture intensive et l’importation d’autres abeilles. Leur extinction signerait la disparition de maillons indispensables de nos écosystèmes.

Différentes variétés géographiques d’abeilles à miel (Apis mellifera) se sont développées au quatre coins de l’Europe. Et, dans chacun de ces lieux d’implantation, elles ont acquis au fil des millénaires des capacités d’adaptation à leur environnement local qui font d’elles les pollinisateurs les plus performants de nos plantes sauvages comme des végétaux cultivés.

Mais partout en Europe, les abeilles présentent déjà entre un tiers et deux-tiers d’ADN étranger. Ces abeilles hybrides sont souvent incapables de butiner les variétés de fleurs locales. Au Nord, elles ne savent pas faire des réserves de miel suffisantes pour supporter un hiver plus long que celui qu’elles connaissent dans leurs contrées d’origine. Au Sud, elles ignorent qu’elles doivent freiner leur ponte au début de l’été avant d’affronter une période de sécheresse qu’elles n’ont jamais expérimentée.

Déjà menacées comme tout le vivant par les pesticides et la dégradation de la nature, ces abeilles mal adaptées meurent encore plus vite. Trop vite.

La bonne volonté ne suffit pas

Seuls quelques conservatoires abritent encore des populations d’abeilles locales pures. Mais ces petits coins de nature pour l’instant préservés ne perdurent que grâce à la volonté farouche de passionnés qui les font exister. Et leur bonne volonté ne suffit plus alors que les apiculteurs, confrontés à la mortalité massive de leurs colonies, tentent d’y remédier en important justement des abeilles étrangères. Seule la loi peut donner une existence officielle à ces zones de conservation. Seule la loi peut protéger les efforts et le travail des conservatoires. Seule la loi peut imposer des règles de fonctionnement respectueuses des abeilles locales. Seule la loi peut mettre en place des sanctions dissuasives aux introductions d’abeilles non indigènes.

Que la raison fasse loi

Nous, scientifiques, associations et citoyens engagés avec la coalition #SaveLocalBees demandons instamment à la Commission et aux États membres de l’Union européenne de mettre immédiatement en application cette volonté des citoyens et de leurs représentants au Parlement.

Nous demandons notamment une protection juridique des conservatoires d’écotypes et sous-espèces d’Apis mellifera sur l’ensemble du territoire européen. Nos revendications et nos arguments sont détaillés dans la Déclaration de principe signée par les principaux acteurs de la protection des abeilles locales et de la biodiversité.

La coalition #SaveLocalBees et les spécialistes à l’origine de ce mouvement, amoureux de la nature et de nos incomparables abeilles locales, ont besoin d’un large soutien populaire pour donner poids à ces revendications légitimes et vitales pour nos écosystèmes.

JE SIGNE LA PÉTITION